Bihar: Senior BJP leader Nandkishore Yadav will be the new Speaker of the Assembly

Senior BJP MLA Nadankishore Yadav will be the new Speaker of Bihar Legislative Assembly. Sources said that Nandkishore Yadav, who was elected a seventh time MLA from Patna Sahib, has been informed by his party’s leadership.

He has served as a minister in the erstwhile National Democratic Alliance (NDA) governments in Bihar. He was the Minister of the Road Construction Department in the previous government. According to sources, the post of Speaker of the House has gone to the BJP’s account as per mutual agreement within the NDA alliance.

The BJP is the largest party with 74 MLAs in the ruling coalition, while Chief Minister Nitish Kumar’s party JD (U) is second in this alliance with 43 MLAs. Nandkishore also served as the leader of the opposition when Nitish Kumar walked out of the NDA.

He has also served as the President of the BJP’s Bihar unit twice in the past. In the recently concluded elections, Nand Kishore won the Patna Sahib seat for the seventh time by defeating Congress’s Praveen Singh by over 18,000 votes.

In the new cabinet, two BJP Deputy Chief Ministers Tarkishore Prasad and Renu Devi have been made. JDU’s Vijay Kumar Chaudhary is the Speaker of the House in the outgoing assembly. Chaudhary has been sworn in as the new minister in Nitish’s cabinet.

Source link