Sri Lankan team announced for Test series against South Africa and England | Newsbaits

  • Sri Lanka have announced the squad for the Test series against South Africa and England. Five uncapped players have got a place in the 22-man squad led by Dimuth Karunaratne.

    Veteran Angelo Mathews is also part of the team, but will not tour South Africa as he is recovering from an injury suffered during the recently concluded Lanka Premier League.

  • These uncapped players got a place

  • Vannindu Hasranga, Minod Bhanuka, Asita Fernando, Dilshan Madushanka and Santhush Gunathilaka are the five uncapped players. In the recently concluded Lanka Premier League, Hasranga became ‘Player of the Tournament’ in 10 matches with 17 wickets at an economy rate of 5.18.

  • Opener Oshada Fernando is injured

  • The 22-man squad selected for the upcoming two series is the same one that participated in the 10-day practice camp at Pallekele before the Lanka Premier League. Apart from Mathews, some other players are also injured.

    Opener Oshada Fernando is still recovering from an ankle injury (ankle injury) and will not be able to play the first Test against South Africa. In such a situation, Kusal Perera will start the innings.

  • Kushal Perera can open in first Test against South Africa

    Kushal Perera can open in first Test against South Africa
  • Team selector Ashanta hoped that Oshada would be fit by the second Test.

    He added, “Oshada is skeptical of playing in the first Test. So Kusal Perera can open in the first match. He had scored an impressive 153 runs on the last tour, although he did not open. In the current situation. We think he can do well as an opener because he can play the new ball. ”

  • program

    Series schedule against South Africa and England

  • From 26 December to 07 January Sri Lanka cricket team is going to tour South Africa for a two-match Test series.

    The Sri Lankan team will then return home to host the Test series against England. The series will begin with the first match on January 14. After this, the second and final Test will be played from 22 January. Both the Tests have been hosted by Galle.

  • Sri Lankan team

    Sri Lankan team for Test series against South Africa and England

  • Dimuth Karunaratne (Captain), Kusal Janith Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Oshada Fernando, Dhananjay DeSilva, Niroshan Dikwela, Minod Bhanuka, Lahiru Thirimane, Lasith Ambuldeniya, Vanindu Hussaranga, Vishnu Swarunga, Vishnu Swarunga, Vishuranuwaran, Vishuranuwaran Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Dushmantha Chameera, Dasun Shanaka, Santhush Gunathilke, Asita Fernando and Dilshan Madushanka.

  • Source link